Drug Possession Defense in Connecticut
A Connecticut Criminal Attorney Discusses Penalties Imposed For Drug Possession Charges
Connecticut imposes stiff penalties for drug possession charges. A Connecticut criminal attorney can explain the different types of possession charges and the sentencing guidelines for each.
What’s Required for the Prosecution in Drug Possession Charges
As with most states, Connecticut’s drug possession laws impose more or less severe penalties depending on the type and amount of drugs involved. If you face drug charges, a Connecticut criminal lawyer will carefully review your charges and the circumstances surrounding your arrest so you can better understand what you’re up against. There are different types of drug possession charges. At their most basic, possession charges include the knowing (intentional) possession or control of a drug (of which the possessor understands its character). As your Connecticut criminal lawyer will explain, the amount of the drug possessed will vastly change the severity of the charge. Prosecutors focus on the type and quantity of the drug. Simple possession is a less serious charge where possession with intent to sell is much worse.
Penalties Associated With Drug Possession Charges
If you face possession charges, your Connecticut criminal attorney will work to ensure you understand the potential penalties. If it’s your first offense, the penalties are less severe. Your Connecticut criminal lawyer can explain the various possession penalties. Some examples include:
- Heroin, crack, cocaine = 7 years and/or $50,000;
- Less than 4 ounces of pot = 1 year/$1,000;
- More than 4 ounces of pot = 5 years/$2,000;
- Sale of narcotics if drug dependent = 15 years/$50,000;
- Sale of an ounce of heroin or more = mandatory 5 to 20 years.
Let your Connecticut criminal attorney explain strategies for building a defense and the specifics of what the prosecution must ultimately prove.
Drug possession charges carry serious consequences. At Shalvoy Law, LLC you can speak to an experienced Connecticut criminal attorney to help you understand your legal options. Call 203-426-4409 to set up an appointment.
Ratings and Reviews
I had been arrested for driving while under suspension for DUI, which carries a mandatory minimum 30 days in jail. In spite of the objections from the prosecutor, Attorney Shalvoy was able to convince the Judge to waive the jail term and only imposed a fine.
– A client